New trailer, Faeryn dumps me, and first show of the year

I picked up my NEW new trailer (as I am calling it!) on Dec. 22. A great late birthday and early Christmas present. Thrilled that I ended up getting the trailer I really wanted in the first place. I hauled Faeryn and a friend’s horse to Jack  Brooks park the next day and I could not make it sway. And the dealer took the grids I’d had installed in the original trailer and moved them to this trailer, and put all my ‘stuff’ back right where it had been in the other trailer. I’m thrilled with the new trailer and it pulls really well.

Last Sunday, Faeryn dumped me for the first time since she was newly under saddle. (she will turn 8 next June.) She wasn’t being naughty – we just had a miscommunication about which way she was going to go around a fiberglass post that marks ‘letters’ in my pasture ‘arena.’ She ended up jumping OVER the post and I got unseated and tumbled off over her right shoulder. I landed on my butt and apparently tore some muscles because a week later, it really hurts, especially when I am on my feet or walking for any length of time. Trying to remember to take NAISDs on a regular basis since that helps. 

And of course, I’d entered Faxx in an Arabian show for this weekend. Fortunately I could opt out of the second day of the show since I had not yet entered classes for the second day. But just the normal walking around and standing required at a show just about did me in. And I could not show him in hand myself – but fortunately found an experienced friend who volunteered to do it for me. He got second in both his in hand classes. He was so bored with it all he refused to show his ‘good’ trot. We won both of our sport horse under saddle classes. I opted to not show in the SHUS Chamionship class because it was the last class of the day and Faxx hasn’t been ridden enough to be in really good shape.

We got spoiled by the drought the last few years and we are having a more typical Houston January – wet and dreary.

Leave a Reply

