Bad, bad blogger!

You would think since I am ‘unemployed’ that I would have plenty of time to keep up my blog. Not so, unfortunately. Hunting for a job takes almost as much time as actually working at one. And not only am I job hunting, I am also building a website and online portfolio in case Plan A (get a real job) fails, I go to Plan B – which is to freelance. And on top of that, I am trying to finish all the projects I started and get the house in order for holiday entertaining. I’ve painted the entry hall, main hall and dining room, chosen fabric for several pieces of furniture and took them to the reupholsterer, am almost fnished with the living room redecorating and the dining room is done, except for reupholstering my ‘new’ 1940s Chippendale chairs, which arrived from Michigan a few weeks ago. Unfortunately my upholstery guy can’t get to them until after the first of the year. I also have painted my tack shed exterior, and finallly painted the columns in front of the house. Now on to the horse update.

Faeryn underperformed at the Championsihps and ended up in the top third of two very large classes – almost 30 in each. Doesn’t make me love her any less. The week after, she went to a schooling show, and under a very tough “r” judge, scored a 62%. I was very happy with that. I rode her both days in a Debbie Bowman clinic last weekend and we really made a lot of progress getting her to take more weight on her right hind. Her canter improved dramatically. Debbie also helped me sort out the shoulder-in to renvers that is in Second Level Test 3. Ihave not ridden that test in competition yet, but will have to at the Houston Dressage Society schooling show championships Dec. 18.  I am taking Faeryn to a schooling show Dec. 4 to ride Second 3 for the first time in competition as a warm up for the schooling show championships.

Fling is doing super. I have been schooling her through parts of Fourth Level Test 1. I hope she will be ready to show at the January HDS show. I may take her to a schooling show Dec. 11 to just ride through it.

Faxx has been doing well. I am riding him regularly now but he is definitely not as ‘trainable’ as the other two. He really has a good work ethic, but he is harder for me to ride because he is so big, and because he is so big, he is not quite as ‘handy’ as the mares are. I had a big disappointment last week when the Arabian Horse Assn announced they changed their plans and Sport Horse nationals, which were going to be at the Kentucky Horse Park for the next few years, has been moved. In 2011 it will be in Idaho and in 2013 it will be in Lexington, Virgina. I was really bummed and also a bit angry since I spent a lot of money going to Kentucky in September to scope out what was supposed to be the venue for the nationals next year to prepare for taking Faxx. So my plans for taking him to Nationals next year are definitely toast. Virginia is about 3 hours further than the Kentucky Horse Park, but who knows what will be happening two years from now. I’ll just have to wait and see. In the meantime, I am trying to ride him with an eye toward getting him ready for second level next year – schooling shows anyway. It is a ‘wild hair’ but I am considering taking him to a regular Arabian show and showing him in hunter pleasure with an eye to qualifying him for the regular Arabian National Championships which are held in October in Tulsa, OK. Faxx has earned all the points he needs for the highest achievement award from the Arabian Horse Association – BUT he needs a Top Ten or higher to close the deal. I figure going to OK will be a lot cheaper and easier than going to Virgina. I would just have to see how competetive he would be. It’s an idea. I generally hate riding in ‘rail’ classes, though, so not sure I can really get myself motivated enough to do it.

Soon I will need to think about goals for all three horses for next year. Hard to do since I am not sure how much money I will have for training and showing. If that is not a factor, I definitely want to get my scores toward fourth level with Fling. I want to show Faeryn second level and qualify her for the championships at that level, and show Faxx first level at recognized all breed shows and qualify him for first level. I only took him to two shows t first level last year and they were both Arabian shows. I am concerned that I still have not managed to confirm Fling’s flying changes. I almost have to ‘teach her to the test.’ IE, if she knows a flying change is required in a certain place in a test, I can teach her to do it THERE. I cannot get a flying change at random in any spot in the arena, and I can’t get two in a row anywhere close together. Prix St. Georges requires changes every four strides. I think she will be doing piaffe and passage before she can do that!!

Leave a Reply

