The summer doldrums

It happens every year around this time. I get the “I am so tired of the heat” blahs. I don’t want to ride and I just ‘happen’ to find an abundance of ‘indoor projects’ that NEED to be done. πŸ˜‰

BUT. I know I NEED to ride because a horse is not a bicycle. It can’t just be stored in the ‘garage’ until the mood hits. There are shows coming up in the fall, and goals to be met. And it’s definitely not fair to the horse to let him/her languish for a few months and then expect them to be at the same fitness level they were before.  And speaking of fitness level. I have been thinking about how to get mine fitter without pounding their legs. Mike takes his endurance horses to the beach and rides them at a walk in the deeper sand along the shoreline. But, I don’t have time to do that with one horse, much less three. He is at a definite advantage, since he can ride one horse and pony the other! I don’t think that would work – on oh so many levels for me! For one, I would get jerked off backwards when someone decided to go a different direction. And it’s not like I can explain to the ‘unmounted’ one that “we’re going to work on halfpass now, ‘kay?” LOL!

I could take them to a place near Bellville to swim laps. But, again, that would take an entire day, and I could not do it often enough to do much good.

Hills are great, but we have none. Or do we? I do have a pile of the nasty clay that was scraped off my arena. It is not a large hill, but it is a ‘hill’ compared to the surrounding topography. I started riding Faeryn up and down it the other day. Months ago, when I was pondering to my neighbor about what to do with all this surplus dirt, she said “Make a training hill!”  And I laughed.  But I am not laughing now. πŸ˜‰

Until cooler weather comes, I have given myself permission to only ride one horse every evening. I really can’t bring myself to stick a big toe outside until around 7. And by then, when I get in my arena in the shade of the huge oak and pecan tree, and the evening breeze has kicked up, it’s almost downright pleasant. And I find myself in disbelief when I see the weather and they say it was 100/101 that day. But I suspect if I started at 5:30, I would have no trouble believing that.

But by waiting that late to start, I definitely only have time to ride one. And we arent’ eating dinner until around 9 p.m. these days.

But so far I have not heard any equine complaining about being ignored or neglected. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

