HEAT and small breakthrough

Because I  have three horses to ride, it’s pretty essential that I ride two horses almost every weekday, and all of them on the weekends to really get enough training rides in on them. That alone is a tough bill to fill, but lately, when it’s so hot it’s tough to _make_ myself venture outside until 6:30 or 7, it gets even tougher.
 
It’s also so hot that the last thing I want to do is either cook, or consume anything hot by the time I stagger in, dripping wet, around 8:30 p.m. Frankly, I would just as soon skip dinner altogether. So my solution is no cooking this summer. I have ‘spoiled’ my husband by cooking almost every single night in the past. No more! LOL! I gave him the bad news yesterday. It’s sandwiches for the summer. If it were just up to me, I’d eat a big lunch at work and skip eating at night altogether. But my husband has a super freaky metabolism – he is an EATING MACHINE. He consumes close to 4,000 calories a day – I kid you not. It’s like cooking for a family of four, with two of the four being growing teenage boys! I am talking mass quantitites of food. But, hey, he can eat as many sandwiches as he cares to make! This gives me more time to ride, and no guilt about not cooking.
 
Lessons have been far and few, and it looks like they will continue to be that way. Marta has gotten really busy with her own barn. So I am on my own for awhile. Faxx and Faeryn are doing great. I mentioned to a friend that maybe I should haul Faxx up to Marta’s for a lesson as a tune up before our Arabian/Half Arabian Regional Sporthorse Championships in July. She looked at me incredulously and said, ‘You just scored a 72 and a 69 at your last show, won both classes and did it with no schooling. I think you’re doing OK.”  LOL. I hope she is right!
 
Faeryn’s right lead canter was feeling a little funky to the right. I think it’s a combination of being off for two weeks while she was sick, my position, and her stifle has gotten weak again. I worked on my position at right canter – I have a habit of twisting in the saddle and getting my outside shoulder further back than my inside shoulder. I fixed that, and then also started adding reinback and lateral work to her routine so address any weakness in the stifle. Fixing my position made a lot of difference – it will take a week or so for the other things to help.
 
I have been most frustrated with Fling, as her canter has not been ‘quite right’ and I could not figure out what was wrong. Not collected, just did not feel in self carriage like I know she can be. Not straight. I’ve been doing a lot of shoulder-in and renvers – paying special attention that I actually SIT on the seatbone that I SHOULD be sitting on. And, for the ‘duh’ moment, I realized that I am twisting in the saddle at canter the same as I was on Faeryn. Not only twisting, but also looking to the OUTSIDE of the circle instead of the inside. I corrected myself, also remembered to look THROUGH THE HORSE’s EARS, and keep her ‘face on the circle line.’  Much, much better. I am anxious to try it again and see if the ‘fix’ sticks.
 
I really need to get Faeryn to one more schooling show at first level, and need to get Faxx to his FIRST outing at first level.
 
They are both learning shoulder-in and both are doing pretty well in their leg yields. Both still need work on canter and trot lengthenings and both have better trot than canter lengthenings at the moment.
Leave a Reply

